Écrins Long Weekend

La Description: Une randonnée assez difficile de 4 jours à travers la moitié nord du GR54 Tour d'Oisans, de l'Alpe d'Huez à Monêtier-les-Bains.
Date: 8th-12th July 2021
Date:22nd-26th September 2021
Durée du voyage: 4 jours de randonnée, 4 nuits
Taille du groupe: 4 à 10 personnes
Coût €595 p.p. (€50 single supplement if applicable)
Difficulté: Physique four marmotsTechniquethree marmots
Résumé:

Lac BessonCette randonnée de 4 jours est une excellente introduction au paysage accidenté du Parc National des Écrins. Bien qu'elle ne dure que 4 jours, au cours de cette promenade, nous gravirons quatre cols sur 2000 m. Au départ de la célèbre montée du Tour de France de l'Alpe d'Huez, nous traversons le plateau de haute montagne d'Emparis jusqu'à La Grave, la célèbre station de ski hors-piste avec sa vue imprenable sur la Meije. De là, la promenade nous emmène à travers le col d´Arsine jusqu'à la vieille ville de Monetier-le-Bains dans la vallée de Serre-Chevalier, où se termine notre voyage.

Cliquez ici pour voir le galerie de photos

Jour 1: Départ de l'aéroport de Lyon. Alpe d'Huez à Châtelard, 4 heures de marche.
Jour 2: Châtelard à Besse, 6-7 heures de marche.
Jour 3: Besse à Villar-d’Arêne, 8-9 heures de marche.
Jour 4: La Grave à Monêtier-les-Bains, 7-8 heures de marche

Difficulté: Il s'agit d'une randonnée modérément difficile, adaptée aux randonneurs réguliers et en forme. Nous marcherons jusqu'à 9 heures par jour, avec un gain de hauteur jusqu'à 1100m par jour. L'altitude n'est généralement pas un problème, mais nous marcherons au-dessus de 2400 m, ou la plupart des gens ressentiront un essoufflement.
Hébergement: L'hébergement se fera dans des hôtels basiques mais confortables et de petits gîtes. Les chambres simples sont disponibles les jours 1, 3 et 4, moyennant un supplément pour personnes seuls. Le deuxieme nuit se passe dans un gîte de petits dortoirs.
Repas: Tous les petits déjeuners et dîners (à l'exception du dîner du dernier soir) sont inclus dans le prix. Les déjeuners ne sont pas inclus. Soit nous mangeons dans un refuge ou dans un buvette de montagne, soit nous achèterons des paniers-repas dans l'hébergement du nuit précèdent.
Transport: Il y aura un transfert de l'aéroport de Lyon le jour 1 et un transfert de retour vers l'aéroport de Lyon le jour 5. D'autres options de transfert peuvent être possibles sur demande.
Taille du groupe: 4-10

Itinéraire:

Lac BessonJour 1 Jour d'arrivée: Il y aura un transfert de l'aéroport de Lyon à l'Alpe d'Huez le matin du premier jour. Après un déjeuner tardif au bord du magnifique lac Besson, nous marcherons jusqu'à notre première soirée d'hébergement à Châtelard. La marche est en grande partie en descente et sera un bon échauffement pour les jours à venir. Nous arrivons à notre hôtel à temps pour nous détendre dans les environs avant le dîner.
Hébergement: Hôtel confortable
Distance: 11km
Dénivelé positif: 150m
Altitude maximale: 2070m

Jour 2: Châtelard à Besse-en-Oisans: Après le petit déjeuner à notre hôtel, nous commençons notre promenade. Un départ facile par le col du Marronne nous amène au col de Cluy. De là, il y a deux options. L’une est la montée physique vers la Croix de Cassini, notre point culminant avec une vue imprenable sur l’Oisans et le défi de demain, le plateau d’Emparis. Une crête aérée nous conduit au col de Sarenne avec sa route reculée. Une alternative plus simple nous amène au Col de Sarenne via les gorges de Sarenne plus abritées. L'encadrant décidera de l'itinéraire à emprunter en fonction de la météo et de la capacité du groupe.

Toute l'endroit a l'aire vraimant sauvage, bien qu’elle se trouve juste derrière l’Alpe d’Huez. Du col, nous avons une vue spectaculaire sur la vallée du Ferrand, dans laquelle nous descendrons. Après un arrêt pour notre panier-repas, nous descendons près de 800m jusqu'à Besse, notre arrêt pour la nuit. L'hébergement ce soir est dans une auberge conviviale.
Hébergement: Gîte
Distance: 19km ou 17km
Dénivelé positif: 1250m ou 950m
Altitude maximale: 2373m ou 1990m

col de souchetJour 3: Besse-en-Oisans à Villar-d’Arêne: Aujourd'hui est l'un des points forts de l'ensemble du GR54, alors que nous traversons le célèbre Plateau d'Emparis. Attendez-vous à voir des marmottes, des vautours et peut-être même un aigle royal.

Après le petit déjeuner, nous nous dirigeons tout droit dans une montée de 700m jusqu'au Col de Bichet. De là, nous avons une courte descente, suivie d'une autre montée de 200m jusqu'au Col de Souchet à 2365m. C'est le point culminant de la journée, et après nous être arrêtés pour admirer la vue sur les glaciers de la Girose et du Tabuchet, nous descendons vers la station de ski mondialement connue de La Grave. De là, nous prenons un chemin en pente douce jusqu'au village de Villar-d'Arêne où nous nous arrêtons pour la journée. Notre hébergement ce soir sera dans un hôtel basique.
Hébergement: Hôtel basique mais confortable
Distance: 20 km
Dénivelé positif: 1200m
Altitude maximale: 2365m

Col d'ArsineJour 4: Villar-d’Arêne à Monêtier-les-Bains: Un début tôt aujourd'hui, car nous avons encore une journée longue devant nous. Nous nous approvisionnons en collations et entamons la montée vers le col d’Arsine. Bien que la montée soit longue, elle n'est ni techniquement difficile ni raide. Il est possible de s'arrêter dans un refuge en cours de route pour le déjeuner. Une fois au col, nous avons une vue impressionnante sur les vallées de la Romanche et de la Guisane. Selon l'heure, nous pourrons peut-être faire un petit détour pour visiter le lac glaciaire d'Arsine.

La descente vers Monêtier suit la rivière Petit Tabuc, au-delà d'une série de lacs plus petits. Les marmottes de cette région sont connues pour être particulièrement habituées aux humains, nous pouvons donc même les voir de près. En fonction de l'heure d'arrivée au Monêtier, li y a la possibilité de se détendre dans les célèbres thermes dont la commune tire son nom. Notre voyage se terminera ce soir par un repas de fête dans un restaurant local.
Hébergement: Hôtel
Distance: 20 km
Dénivelé positif: 900m
Altitude maximale: 2354m

Day 5: Transfer Day: Après un dernier petit déjeuner ensemble, nous retournerons à l'aéroport de Lyon.

Réservation

For further information, or to book onto the trip, please contact us at bookings@whitemarmotte.com ou utiliser notre formulaire de réservation en ligne


SERAC Logo Ce voyage est réalisé en association avec SERAC , l'association tourisme dont White Marmotte est membre. L'adhésion à cette association nous permet de proposer des de séjours clés en main organisés répondant à toutes les obligations légales et financières du code européen du tourisme. Dans le cadre du SERAC, White Marmotte conçois et encadre les séjours tandis que SERAC en est l'organisateur.

Écrins Long Weekend

Description: A challenging 4-day hike across the northern half of the GR54 Tour d’Oisans, starting in Alpe d’Huez and finishing in Monêtier-les-Bains.
Dates: 16th-20th September 2020
Dates:24th-28th September 2020
Trip Length: 4 days walking, 4 nights
Group Size: 4-10 people
Cost: €595 p.p. (€50 single supplement if applicable)
Trip Grading: Physical four marmotsTechnicalthree marmots
Trip Summary

Lac BessonThis challenging 4-day hike is an excellent introduction to the rugged landscape of the Ecrins National Park. Despite being only 4 days long, during this walk we will climb four cols over 2000 m. Starting out from the famous Tour de France climb of Alpe d’Huez, we walk across the high mountain Plateau d’Emparis to La Grave, the renowned off-piste ski station with its stunning views of the Meije. From here, the walk takes us across the Col d’Arsine down to the old town of Monetier-le-Bains in the Serre-Chevalier valley, where our trip ends.

Click here for a link to the trip gallery

Day 1: Pick up from Lyon Airport. Walk from Alpe d’Huez to Châtelard, 4 hours walking.
Day 2: Châtelard to Besse, 6-7 hours walking.
Day 3: Besse to Villar-d’Arêne, 8-9 hours walking.
Day 4: La Grave to Monêtier-les-Bains, 7-8 hours walking

Suitability: This is a moderately challenging hike, suitable for regular, fit hill walkers. We will be walking for up to 9 hours a day, with up to 1100m height gain per day. Altitude is not generally a problem, however, we will be walking above 2400m, at which most people will feel some shortness of breath.
Accommodation: Accommodation throughout will be in basic but comfortable hotels and small gîtes. Single rooms are available on days 1, 3 and 4, subject to a single supplement. On day 2 we will stay in a gîte with small dormitories.
Meals: All breakfasts and dinners (with the exception of dinner on the final day) are included in the price. Lunches are not included. We will either stop at a refuge or mountain restaurant at lunchtime, or purchase packed lunches from the overnight accommodation.
Transport: There will be a transfer from Lyon Airport on Day 1 and a return transfer to Lyon Airport on Day 5. Other transfer options may be possible on request.
Group Size: 4-10

Detailed Itinerary

Lac BessonDay 1 Arrival Day: There will be a timed transfer from Lyon airport to Alpe d’Huez on the morning of the first day. After a late lunch by the beautiful Lac Besson, we will walk to our first evening’s accommodation at Châtelard. The walk is largely downhill, and will be a good warm-up for the days ahead. We arrive at our hotel in time to relax in the surroundings before dinner.
Accommodation: Comfortable hotel
Distance: 11km
Altitude Gain: 150m
Maximum Altitude: 2070m

Day 2: Châtelard to Besse-en-Oisans: After breakfast at our hotel, we begin our walk. An easy start over the Col du Marronne brings us to the Col de Cluy. From here there are two options. One is the tough climb to the Croix de Cassini, our high point with great views of the Oisans and of tomorrow’s challenge, the Plateau d’Emparis. An airy ridge leads us down to the Col de Sarenne with its remote road crossing. An easier alternative takes us to the Col de Sarenne via the more sheltered Sarenne Gorge. The trip leader will make the decision as to which route we take depending on the weather and the ability of the group.

The whole area has a remarkably wild feel to it, despite being just behind Alpe d’Huez. From the col, we have a spectacular view over the Ferrand Valley, which we will be descending into. After a stop for our packed lunch, we descend nearly 800m to Besse, our stop for the night. Accommodation tonight is at a friendly auberge.
Accommodation: Cosy Gite
Distance: 19km or 17km
Altitude Gain: 1250m or 950m
Maximum Altitude: 2373m or 1990m

col de souchetDay 3: Besse-en-Oisans to Villar-d’Arêne: Today is one of the highlights of the entire GR54 route, as we hike across the famous Plateau d’Emparis. Expect to see marmots, vultures and maybe even a golden eagle.

After breakfast, we head straight into a 700m climb to the Col de Bichet. From here we have a short descent, followed by another 200m climb to the Col de Souchet at 2365m. This marks the highpoint for the day, and after stopping to admire the views of the Girose and Tabuchet glaciers, we descend to the world-famous ski resort of La Grave. From here, we take a gentle uphill path out of the town to the village of Villar-d’Arêne where we stop for the day. Our accommodation tonight will be at a basic hotel.
Accommodation: Basic but comfortable hotel
Distance: 20 km
Altitude Gain: 1200m
Maximum Altitude: 2365m

Col d'ArsineDay 4: Villar-d’Arêne to Monêtier-les-Bains: An early start today, as we have another big day ahead of us. We stock up on snacks and start the climb up to the Col d’Arsine. While the climb is long, it is neither technically difficult nor steep. There is the option to stop at a refuge along the way for lunch. Once at the col, we have an impressive view into both the Romanche and Guisane valleys. Depending on the time, we may be able to take a short detour to visit the glacial lake of Arsine.

The descent into Monêtier follows the Petit Tabuc river past a series of smaller lakes. The marmots in this region are known to be particularly habituated to humans, so we may even see them up close. Depending on the time we arrive in Monêtier, there may be the option of unwinding in the famous thermal baths from which the town gets its name. Our trip will finish this evening with a celebratory meal out in a local restaurant.
Accommodation: Hotel
Distance: 20 km
Altitude Gain: 900m
Maximum Altitude: 2354m

Day 5: Transfer Day: After a last breakfast together, we will transfer back to Lyon airport.

Booking

For further information, or to book onto the trip, please contact us at bookings@whitemarmotte.com or use our online booking.


SERAC Logo This trip is run in association with SERAC Association , the French tourism association of which White Marmotte is a member. Membership of this association allows us to offer tour packages satisfying all legal and financial obligations of the European Tourism Code. Under the SERAC framework, the trip is created and run by White Marmotte, while SERAC are the organisers.